Welcome to Charity!

The Sovereign Asian Art Prize was launched in 2003 to increase the international exposure of artists in the region, whilst raising funds for programmes that support disadvantaged children using expressive arts. Held annually, The Prize is now recognised as the most established and prestigious annual art award in Asia-Pacific.

The Prize invites mid-career contemporary artists, nominated by a board of independent art professionals, to each enter up to three artworks online. A judging panel comprised of world-class art experts shortlist the 30 best artworks from a range of digital images. The shortlisted artworks are then exhibited in Hong Kong, where they are judged for a second time and voted on by the public. The Grand Prize Winner receives US$30,000, while the winner of the Public Vote Prize receives US$1,000. The Vogue Hong Kong Women’s Art Prize, launched in 2019 in partnership with Vogue Hong Kong, awards the highest-scoring female artist with US$5,000. The shortlisted artworks, except for The Grand Prize-winning entry, are sold and proceeds are split evenly between the artists and the charity. Artists receive the same split as they would through a gallery, and the artworks often fetch higher prices thanks to generous bidding from charity patrons. The Prize acts as a springboard, enabling many artists to achieve record prices and wider audiences for their work. Notable successes include Adrian Wong, Debbie Han, Haris Purnomo, Jeongmee Yoon, Qi Zhi Long, Rashid Rana and Yang Yongliang, amongst others.

If you are interested in volunteering at The 2020 Sovereign Asian Art Prize Finalists Exhibition please click here.

2020 Key Dates

Please check back for updates. To reserve tickets for events, please contact art@sovereignartfoundation.com

Entry Deadline (nominees only): 
11 November 2019

Shortlist Announced:
18 March 2020

Winner Announcement:
17 July 2020

2020 Judging Panel



David Elliott

Writer, curator and museum director

David Elliott is a cultural and art historian, writer, curator and museum director primarily concerned with modern and contemporary art. Elliott was Director of the Museum of Modern Art in Oxford, England from 1976-96, Director of Moderna Museet in Stockholm, Sweden from 1996-2001,…

Read more

Jan Dalley

Arts Editor, Financial Times

Jan Dalley is the Arts Editor of the Financial Times, appointed in 2005 after joining the newspaper in 1999 as the Literary Editor. She writes extensively on arts and culture, and has a regular column in FT Weekend.

Read more

Jiyoon Lee

Art historian, curator, writer and art strategy consultant

Jiyoon Lee is an art historian, curator, writer and art strategy consultant. Alongside a PhD in Art History focusing on Impact on globalization on Asian contemporary art since 1989 from Courtault Institute of Art, and an MA in Museum …

Read more

Miao Xiaochun

Artist and Professor at The Central Academy of Fine Arts, Beijing

Miao Xiaochun graduated from the China Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA) and the Kunsthochschule Kassel, Germany. Currently Professor at CAFA, he has worked since the 1990s on the interface between the real and the virtual. His extensive body of work includes photography, painting and 3D computer animation …

Read more

Zhou Li


Zhou Li was born in 1969 in Hunan, China, and lives and works in Shenzhen. She studied oil painting at the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts, China, graduating in 1991. In 1995 Zhou moved to France, where she lived and worked until 2003.

Read more

2020 Nominators

The Sovereign Art Foundation works with hundreds of independent arts professionals around the world.

For information about how we select our nominators and criteria for nomination, please contact us.


Afghanistan Azizullah Hazara, Maryam Kouhestani, Nabila Horakhsh

Australia Alan Pigott, Gene Sherman, Felicity Fenner, Iain Dawson, Mikala Tai, Natalie King

Bangladesh Liakat Ali Lucky, Md. Muniruzzaman, Nadia Samdani, Rajeeb Samdani, Shawon Akand, Tayeba Begum Lipi

Bhutan Pema Tshering

Brunei Hj Osman Mohammad, Osveanne Osman (Osveous)

Cambodia Dana Lamglois, Erin Gleeson, Serey Siv

China Gary Mok, Xiaobei Cheng, Zhenhua Li

Hong Kong Chantal Wong, Freya Chou, Kurt Chan, May Fung, Maria Mok, Qu Chang, Ying Kwok

India Akansha Rastogi, Bose Krishnamachari, Kriti Sood, Neeraj Gupta, Tasneem Premjish Achari, Zakaria Mehta

Indonesia Asep Topan, Carla Bianpoen, Citra Smara Dewi, Melati Suryodarmo, Rifky Effendy, Sally Texania

Japan Nozomu Ogawa, Takashi Serizawa, Yuko Hasegawa

Kazakhstan Kulzhazira Mukazhanova, Natalia Muravjeva, Vladislav Sludiskiy

Korea (South) Gun Soo Choi

Laos Alice Kok

Maldives Khaled Ramadan

Mongolia Dolgor Ser-Od and Marc Schmitz (Land Art Mongolia), Solongo Tseekhuu, Uranchimeg (Orna) Tsultem, Yo.Dalkh-Ochir

Myanmar Aung Myat Htay, Aye Ko, Nathalie Johnston

Nepal Sangeeta Thapa, Swosti Rajbhandari Kayastha

New Zealand Charlotte Huddleston

Pakistan Adeel Uz Zafar, Muhammad Zeeshan, Naiza Khan

Philippines Victoria “Boots” Herrera

Regional (Asia Pacific) Brian Curtin, Iaroslav Volovod, Lisa Botos, Michael Laub, Rachel Rits-Volloch, Shormi Ahmed, Silke Schmickl, Tiffany Leung, Waseem Ahmed

Singapore Daryl Goh, Milenko Prvacki, Shabbir Hussain Mustafa, Suzzana Chew, Ute Meta Bauer

Sri Lanka Alnoor Mitha, Pradeep Thalawatta

Taiwan Darkun Wu

Thailand Bangkok Biennial Team, Kittima Chareeprasit, Lyla Phimanrat, Tom Van Blarcom, Vipash Purichanont

Events and Exhibitions

2020 Supporting Organisations