Sovereign Asian Art Prize

Held annually, the Sovereign Asian Art Prize invites mid-career contemporary artists, who have been nominated by our carefully selected board of art experts, to enter up to three artworks online. Entries are then judged by a small judging panel consisting of independent art experts and professionals from the region, who select the best 30 artworks from a range of digital images. These 30 pieces are then exhibited in a prominent public space in Hong Kong, where the pieces are judged a second time, in person.

The first prize winner is revealed at the annual sell-out Gala Dinner in Hong Kong, and not only do they receive the coveted award but also US$30,000. With the exception of the winning entry, which then becomes the property of the Foundation and is used to further its charitable work, all art works are auctioned to the public during the gala dinner. The announcement of the Public Prize Winner – and winner of US$1,000 – is also made at this dinner. The Public Prize (or Schoeni Prize) is awarded to the piece which receives the most votes from those who attend the exhibition or who cast a vote through the Foundation’s online voting app.

The proceeds of the auction are split between the artist and the Foundation. In this way, the artist receives the same split as they would through a gallery, except the artwork tends to fetch a higher price thanks to generous bidding from our charity patrons. The auctions have typically acted as a spring board for finalists, enabling many mid-career artists to achieve record prices, great publicity and establish a wider following. Notable successes have included Debbie Han, Simon Birch, Jeongmee Yoon, Adrian Wong, Rashid Rana, Qi Zhi Long and Haris Purnomo, among others.

Please click below for more details on our Terms and Conditions.

English PDF Chinese PDF

To be confirmed. Please check this page again later.

The 2017 Sovereign Asian Art Prize Judging Panel will be announced soon

The 2017 Sovereign Asian Art Prize Nominators

On this page, you will find a list of the art professionals from the Asia Pacific region who are kindly supporting the art prize by nominating artists whom they believe deserve to represent their respective countries. Please note that this list will be updated on a daily basis so in the case where a nominator from your country or region is not listed, please revisit the site and check for updates at a later date.

Australia Tess Maunder, Alan Pigott, Mikala Tai, Felicity Fenner, Nina Shadforth

Afghanistan Nabila Horakhsh

Bangladesh Nadia Samdani, Tayeba Lipi, Rajeeb Samdani

China Adrian Cheng, Ruijun Shen, Lynne-Howarth-Gladston, Li Zhenhua, Lucie Chang, Rachel Marsden, Gary Mok

Hong Kong Vivian Ting, Eve Tam, Chantal Wong, Ying Kwok, Kurt Chan, Andre Chan

India Raqs Media Collective (Monica Narula, Jeebesh Bagchi, Shuddhabrata Sengupta), Srinivas Aditya Mopidevi, Kanika Anand, Bose Krishnamachari, Sabih Mohd Ahmed

Indonesia Carla Bianpoen, Rifky Effendy

Korea Henk Slager, Gun Soo Choi, Jiyoon Lee, Alba Dawoon Lim

Kyrgyzstan Natalia Muravjeva

Mongolia Uranchimeg Tsultem

Myanmar Gill Pattinson

Nepal Kurchi Dasgupta

Pakistan Naiza Khan

Philippines Cid Reyes, Victoria Herrera, Lian Ladia, Eileen Legaspi Ramirez, Ricky Francisco

Regional Hitomi Hasegawa, Shalini Ganendra, Daryl Goh, Ying Tan, Silke Schmickl, Suzzana Chew, Brian Curtin, Jo-Lene Ong, C.A. Xuan Mai Ardia, Roger Nelson, Mi You, Lisa Botos, Satoru Nagoya, Nada Raza, Selina Ting, Stephen McCoubrey

Singapore Milenko Prvacki, Joyce Toh

Sri Lanka Annoushka Hempel

Taiwan  Yao Jui-chung

Thailand Lyla Phimanrat

The 2017 Sovereign Asian Art Prize – Important dates

Deadline For Entries December 2, 2016

Announcement Of Finalists January 2017 

Finalists’ Exhibition Dates April 2017

Cocktail Opening of Exhibition April 2017

The 2017 Sovereign Asian Art Prize Gala Dinner May 5, 2017

The 2017 Sovereign Asian Art Prize sponsors will be announced soon